Technologies

Hydrogen fuel cells transform chemical energy of fuel into power without utilizing low-effective, high-loss combustion processes and transformation of thermal energy into mechanical energy. As a result of highly efficient cold fuel combustion, this electrochemical device generates electric power. A hydrogen-air fuel cell with a proton-exchange membrane (PEMFC) is one of the most efficient perspective technologies of fuel cells.

A proton-conducting polymer membrane separates two electrodes, an anode and a cathode. Each electrode represents a coal plate (matrix) with catalyst applied. On the anode catalyst, molecular hydrogen dissociates and yields electrons. Hydrogen cations are passed through the membrane to the cathode, but electrons are yielded to the external circuit, since the membrane does not let the electrons to pass through.

On the cathode catalyst, the oxygen molecule associates with the electron (supplied to the electrical circuit) and the arrived proton and forms water that is the only product of reaction (in the form of steam and/or liquid).

Specific features of AT Energy systems (partially under development)

  1. Instead of a Pt/C-based catalyst conventionally used in PEMFC, it is planned to use a catalyst with a Pt/SnO2/C-based carrier with addition of carbon and SnO2 additives to increase conductivity. The company has developed a method for implementation and even distribution of stibium particles within the oxide carrier volume, which allowed increasing the period of catalyst's stable operation. Using this catalyst on the anode allows for high FC resistance to CO impurities. During laboratory tests, the catalyst was stable, showed no loss of properties at high CO concentrations and demonstrated self-regeneration capabilities.
  2. The modification technology of proton-exchange membranes made of sulfurized fluoropolymer (Nafion, MF-4SK) allows avoiding water freezing, achieving self-moisturizing and ensures proton conductivity sufficient to start FC at low humidity and at low temperatures (down to -40°С). The team has developed several methods for membrane modification, the best of which combines the membrane modification with platinum and phosphor tungstic acid nano-particles.

AT Energy is constantly developing new technical solutions for fuel cells in the following areas:

  • Low-platinum catalysts
  • Catalysts showing high resistance towards impurities in hydrogen
  • Humidity-independent proton-exchange membranes
  • New generation of hydrogen sources

Технологии

Водородные топливные элементы осуществляют превращение химической энергии топлива в электричество, минуя малоэффективные, идущие с большими потерями, процессы горения и превращения тепловой энергии в механическую. Это электрохимическое устройство в результате высокоэффективного «холодного» горения топлива непосредственно вырабатывает электроэнергию. Водород-воздушный топливный элемент с протон-обменной мембраной (PEMFC) является одной из наиболее перспективных технологий топливных элементов.

Протон-проводящая полимерная мембрана разделяет два электрода —анод и катод. Каждый электрод представляет собой угольную пластину (матрицу) с нанесённым катализатором. На катализаторе анода молекулярный водород диссоциирует и отдает электроны. Катионы водорода проводятся через мембрану к катоду, но электроны отдаются во внешнюю цепь, так как мембрана не пропускает электроны.

На катализаторе катода молекула кислорода соединяется с электроном (который подводится из электрической цепи) и пришедшим протоном и образует воду, которая является единственным продуктом реакции (в виде пара и/или жидкости).

Особенности систем «Эй Ти Энерджи» (частично в разработке)
  1. Вместо традиционно используемого в PEMFC катализатора на основе Pt/C планируется использовать катализатор с носителем на основе оксида металла Pt/SnO2/C с добавлением углерода и повышающих проводимость добавок SnO В компании разработана специальная техника внедрения и равномерного распространения частиц сурьмы в объеме оксидного носителя, что позволило увеличить срок стабильной работы катализатора. Использование данного катализатора на аноде обеспечивает высокую толерантность ТЭ к примесям CO. В ходе лабораторных тестов катализатор стабильно работал без потери свойств на высоких концентрациях CO, при этом продемонстрировал возможности саморегенерации.
  2. Технология модификации протонообменных мембран из сульфированного фторполимера (Nafion, МФ-4СК), позволяет исключить замерзание воды в них, добиться свойства самоувлажнения, и обеспечивает протонную проводимость, достаточную для запуска ТЭ при малой влажности и при отрицательных температурах (до -40°С). Команда разработала несколько методик модификации мембраны, лучшая из которых сочетает модификацию мембраны наночастицами платины и фосфор-вольфрамовой кислоты.
AT Energy ведет непрерывный процесс разработки новых технических решений для топливных элементов по следующим направлениям:
  • Катализаторы с низким содержанием платины
  • Катализаторы с высокой толерантностью к примесям в водороде
  • Влагонезависимые протонно-обменные мембраны
  • Источники водорода нового поколения